Posted in Uncategorized

A ticket to a Runaway Train

There’s only one rule in Runaway Train- No turning back- not even a chance to glance. If you do glance, it is going to be the biggest mistake you are about to make- for you can see yourself behind you and the tracks that are no longer there. For someone like me who is used to bending rules as I pleased, I did turn my back and totally regretted it.
I have been riding this Runaway Train for a couple of years now and I never learned my lesson. I kept on glancing back and I kept on regretting. It was a mad and excruciating cycle, for it didn’t do me no good at all! Like a cycle as it was, I kept on turning, hurting, turning and stumbling. “Don’t you ever get tired?” I heard a voice from somewhere- I turned my head to the left, and there I saw him, standing with his eyes scrutinizing me. How long has he been there? I remembered asking myself as he walked through his way to me. “Stop looking back.” He said, smiling at me as he reached for my face, trying to smoothen the creases and wiped the tears. “It’s the only rule here, why can’t you just follow it, just once-just this time- Follow that one Fucking Rule.” Then he was gone, just like that.
And I did- just once-just this time- I followed that one Fucking Rule- No Turning Back. It was a painful move- pain was too raw- too real- I had hard time breathing. I had hard time keeping up- could I still keep up? Would I survive? Or this was the end of me? Well, I’d be happy to end it all, I had nothing to lose, nothing to gain, nothing but misery. AS I let defeat enveloping my system- feeling every crunch of my bones, unhappiness sucking what was left of me, I could feel a full force- pulling me up. “Your stop is almost there.” I heard him saying. “ You are almost there.”

2 thoughts on “A ticket to a Runaway Train

  1. “I have been riding this Runaway Train for a couple of years now and I never learned my lesson. I kept on glancing back and I kept on regretting.” -so real and true and </3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

