Posted in Uncategorized

TOP 50 Murakami Quotes that SUMS up my LIFE

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

“Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional.”
Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

“Anyone who falls in love is searching for the missing pieces of themselves. So anyone who’s in love gets sad when they think of their lover. It’s like stepping back inside a room you have fond memories of, one you haven’t seen in a long time.”
Haruki Murakami

“Don’t feel sorry for yourself. Only assholes do that.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“But who can say what’s best? That’s why you need to grab whatever chance you have of happiness where you find it, and not worry about other people too much. My experience tells me that we get no more than two or three such chances in a life time, and if we let them go, we regret it for the rest of our lives.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“Lost opportunities, lost possibilities, feelings we can never get back. That’s part of what it means to be alive. But inside our heads – at least that’s where I imagine it – there’s a little room where we store those memories. A room like the stacks in this library. And to understand the workings of our own heart we have to keep on making new reference cards. We have to dust things off every once in awhile, let in fresh air, change the water in the flower vases. In other words, you’ll live forever in your own private library.”
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

 

“But I didn’t understand then. That I could hurt somebody so badly she would never recover. That a person can, just by living, damage another human being beyond repair.”
Haruki Murakami

“I have this strange feeling that I’m not myself anymore. It’s hard to put into words, but I guess it’s like I was fast asleep, and someone came, disassembled me, and hurriedly put me back together again. That sort of feeling.”
Haruki Murakami, Sputnik Sweetheart

“But even so, every now and then I would feel a violent stab of loneliness. The very water I drink, the very air I breathe, would feel like long, sharp needles. The pages of a book in my hands would take on the threatening metallic gleam of razor blades. I could hear the roots of loneliness creeping through me when the world was hushed at four o’clock in the morning.”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“Is it possible, in the final analysis, for one human being to achieve perfect understanding of another?
We can invest enormous time and energy in serious efforts to know another person, but in the end, how close can we come to that person’s essence? We convince ourselves that we know the other person well, but do we really know anything important about anyone?”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“In this world, there are things you can only do alone, and things you can only do with somebody else. It’s important to combine the two in just the right amount.”
Haruki Murakami, After Dark

 

“Closing your eyes isn’t going to change anything. Nothing’s going to disappear just because you can’t see what’s going on. In fact, things will even be worse the next time you open your eyes. That’s the kind of world we live in. Keep your eyes wide open. Only a coward closes his eyes. Closing your eyes and plugging up your ears won’t make time stand still.”
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

 

“Sometimes I feel so- I don’t know – lonely. The kind of helpless feeling when everything you’re used to has been ripped away. Like there’s no more gravity, and I’m left to drift in outer space with no idea where I’m going’
Like a little lost Sputnik?’
I guess so.”
Haruki Murakami, Sputnik Sweetheart

 

“Narrow minds devoid of imagination. Intolerance, theories cut off from reality, empty terminology, usurped ideals, inflexible systems. Those are the things that really frighten me. What I absolutely fear and loathe.”
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

Chance encounters are what keep us going.”

Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

“No truth can cure the sorrow we feel from losing a loved one. No truth, no sincerity, no strength, no kindness can cure that sorrow. All we can do is see it through to the end and learn something from it, but what we learn will be no help in facing the next sorrow that comes to us without warning.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

“I’m a very ordinary human being; I just happen to like reading books.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84

“What a terrible thing it is to wound someone you really care for and to do it so unconsciously.”

Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“Time weighs down on you like an old, ambiguous dream. You keep on moving, trying to sleep through it. But even if you go to the ends of the earth, you won’t be able to escape it. Still, you have to go there- to the edge of the world. There’s something you can’t do unless you get there.”
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

 

“So the fact that I’m me and no one else is one of my greatest assets. Emotional hurt is the price a person has to pay in order to be independent.”
Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

 

 

“I didn’t have much to say to anybody but kept to myself and my books. With my eyes closed, I would touch a familiar book and draw it’s fragrance deep inside me. This was enough to make me happy.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“I’m not so weird to me.”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“So what’s wrong if there happens to be one guy in the world who enjoys trying to understand you?”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“Find me now. Before someone else does.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84

“Instead of things I’m good at, it might be faster to list the things I can’t do. I can’t cook or clean the house. My room’s a mess, and I’m always losing things. I love music, but I can’t sing a note. I’m clumsy and can barely sew a stitch. My sense of direction is the pits, and I can’t tell left from right half the time. When I get angry, I tend to break things. Plates and pencils, alarm clocks. Later on I regret it, but at the time I can’t help myself. I have no money in the bank. I’m bashful for no reason, and I have hardly any friends to speak of.”
Haruki Murakami, Sputnik Sweetheart

 

“I made up my mind I was going to find someone who would love me unconditionally three hundred and sixty five days a year, I was still in elementary school at the time – fifth or sixth grade – but I made up my mind once and for all.”
“Wow,” I said. “Did the search pay off?”
“That’s the hard part,” said Midori. She watched the rising smoke for a while, thinking. “I guess I’ve been waiting so long I’m looking for perfection. That makes it tough.”
“Waiting for the perfect love?”
“No, even I know better than that. I’m looking for selfishness. Perfect selfishness. Like, say I tell you I want to eat strawberry shortcake. And you stop everything you’re doing and run out and buy it for me. And you come back out of breath and get down on your knees and hold this strawberry shortcake out to me. And I say I don’t want it anymore and throw it out the window. That’s what I’m looking for.”
“I’m not sure that has anything to do with love,” I said with some amazement.
“It does,” she said. “You just don’t know it. There are time in a girl’s life when things like that are incredibly important.”
“Things like throwing strawberry shortcake out the window?”
“Exactly. And when I do it, I want the man to apologize to me. “Now I see, Midori. What a fool I have been! I should have known that you would lose your desire for strawberry shortcake. I have all the intelligence and sensitivity of a piece of donkey shit. To make it up to you, I’ll go out and buy you something else. What would you like? Chocolate Mousse? Cheesecake?”
“So then what?”
“So then I’d give him all the love he deserves for what he’s done.”
“Sounds crazy to me.”
“Well, to me, that’s what love is…”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

“Each person feels pain in his own way, each has his own scars.”
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

 

“I’m the kind of person who likes to be by himself. To put a finer point on it, I’m the type of person who doesn’t find it painful to be alone. I find spending an hour or two every day running alone, not speaking to anyone, as well as four or five hours alone at my desk, to be neither difficult nor boring. I’ve had this tendency ever since I was young, when, given a choice, I much preferred reading books on my own or concentrating on listening to music over being with someone else. I could always think of things to do by myself.”
Haruki Murakami, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

 

“I am nothing. I’m like someone who’s been thrown into the ocean at night, floating all alone. I reach out, but no one is there. I call out, but no one answers. I have no connection to anything.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84

 

“Most people are not looking for provable truths. As you said, truth is often accompanied by intense pain, and almost no one is looking for painful truths. What people need is beautiful, comforting stories that make them feel as if their lives have some meaning. Which is where religion comes from.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84 BOOK 1

 

“Have you ever had that feeling—that you’d like to go to a whole different place and become a whole different self?”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“No matter where i go, i still end up me. What’s missing never changes. The scenery may change, but i’m still the same incomplete person. The same missing elements torture me with a hunger that i can never satisfy. I think that lack itself is as close as i’ll come to defining myself.”
Haruki Murakami, South of the Border, West of the Sun

 

“One heart is not connected to another through harmony alone. They are, instead, linked deeply through their wounds. Pain linked to pain, fragility to fragility. There is no silence without a cry of grief, no forgiveness without bloodshed, no acceptance without a passage through acute loss. That is what lies at the root of true harmony.”
Haruki Murakami, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

 

 

“Hatred is like a long, dark shadow. Not even the person it falls upon knows where it comes from, in most cases. It is like a two-edged sword. When you cut the other person, you cut yourself. The more violently you hack at the other person, the more violently you hack at yourself. It can often be fatal. But it is not easy to dispose of. Please be careful, Mr.Okada. It is very dangerous. Once it has taken root in your heart, hatred is the most difficult think in the world to shake off.”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“What I want is for the two of us to meet somewhere by chance one day, like, passing on the street, or getting on the same bus.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84

 

“As if to build a fence around the fatal emptiness inside her, she had to create a sunny person that she became. But if you peeled away the ornamental egos that she had built, there was only an abbys of nothingness and the intense thirst that came with it. Though she tried to forget it, the nothingness would visit her periodically – on a lonely rainy afternoon, or at dawn when she woke up from a nightmare. What she needed at such times was to be held by someone, anyone.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84

 

“Life doesn’t require ideals. It requires standards of action.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“I’m a coward when it comes to matters of the heart. That is my fatal flaw.”
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84

 

“As we go through life we gradually discover who we are, but the more we discover, the more we lose ourselves.”
Haruki Murakami, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

 

“I’d be smiling and chatting away, and my mind would be floating around somewhere else, like a balloon with a broken string.
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“When you fall in love, the natural thing to do is give yourself to it. That’s what I think. It’s just a form of sincerity.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“I never trust people with no appetite. It’s like they’re always holding something back on you.”
Haruki Murakami, Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World

 

 

“But if something did happen, it happened. Whether it’s right or wrong. I accept everything that happens, and that’s how I became the person I am now.”
Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore

 

“This is one more piece of advice I have for you: don’t get impatient. Even if things are so tangled up you can’t do anything, don’t get desperate or blow a fuse and start yanking on one particular thread before it’s ready to come undone. You have to realize it’s going to be a
long process and that you’ll work on things slowly, one at a time.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“What matters is deciding in your heart to accept another person completely. When you do that, it is always the first time and the last.”
Haruki Murakami, Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

 

“I’ve never met a girl who thinks like you.”
“A lot of people tell me that,” she said, digging at a cuticle. “But it’s the only way I know how to think. Seriously. I’m just telling you what I believe. It’s never crossed my mind that my way of thinking is different from other people’s. I’m not trying to be different. But when I speak out honestly, everybody thinks I’m kidding or playacting. When that happens, I feel like everything is such a pain!”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“I am a flawed human being – a far more flawed human being than you
realize.”
Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

 

“Results aside, the ability to have complete faith in another human being is one of the finest qualities a person can possess.”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“You might think you made a new world or a new self, but your old self is always gonna be there, just below the surface, and if something happens, it’ll stick its head out and say ‘Hi.’ You don’t seem to realize that. You were made somewhere else.”
Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

 

“I always feel as if I’m struggling to become someone else. As if I’m trying to find a new place, grab hold of a new life, a new personality. I suppose it’s part of growing up, yet it’s also an attempt to re-invent myself. By becoming a different me, I could free myself of everything. I seriously believed I could escape myself – as long as I made the effort. But I always hit a dead end. No matter where I go, I still end up me. What’s missing never changes. The scenery may change, but I’m still the same old incomplete person. The same missing elements torture me with a hunger that I can never satisfy. I think that lack itself is as close as I’ll come to defining myself.”
Haruki Murakami, South of the Border, West of the Sun

 

 

Leave a Reply

